About Us

The Polytechnic Education in our State was introduced immediately after independence. To look after the academic activities of polytechnic education, 'State Council for Engineering & Technical Education' was set-up as a Government outfit by an executive order. The Council was a part of the Chief Inspectorate of Technical Education and subsequently of the Directorate of Technical Education. West Bengal State Council of Technical and Vocational Education and Skill Development was formed as a Statutory Body under the West Bengal Act XXVI of 2013.

West Bengal State Council of Technical and Vocational Education and Skill Development (Technical Education Division) has various activities for conducting a number of courses at Diploma, Post Diploma, Certificate, Advanced Certificate, Short Term Vocational Training, Commercial Education level besides monitoring and affiliating the academic institutions conducting these courses and development of curricula for the purpose. The Council also advices Government in respect of Technical Education for the areas mentioned above. Apart from aforesaid activities, the Council also conducts entrance examination and prepares merit lists for admission of students to Diploma Courses in Engineering / Technology/ Architecture / Pharmacy etc in the Polytechnics of the State under its affiliation.
Jalpaiguri Polytechnic Institute is one of the prestigious institutions of North Bengal which has been carrying its glory since the establishment of this college. Our students are placed all over the country in many Government and Private sector.

Jalpaiguri Polytechnic at a Glance:

1. Name of the Institute : Jalpaiguri Polytechnic Institute
2. Address: P.O- Denguajhar, Dt.- Jalpaiguri, Pin : 735121
3. Tele-Fax: +91 03561 256474.
4. Email Id: academicjpi@gmail.com, principaljpi@yahoo.co.in
5. Year of Establishment: 1950
6. Total Campus Area: 30 Acres (approximately)
7. Administration: Government of West Bengal
8. Diploma Awarding Authority: West Bengal State Council of Technical Education (W.B.S.C.T.E.),
Kolkata Karigori Bhawan, 2nd Floor, 110, S.N.Banerjee Road,
9. Courses Offered (approved by AICTE): Diploma Courses of 3 Years Duration
1. Civil Engineering (DCE)
2. Mechanical Engineering (DME)
3. Electrical Engineering (DEE)
4. Electronics and Communication Engineering (DETCE)
10. Intake Student Strength:
Branch Intake
Civil 120
Mechanical 60
Electrical 60
Electronics and Telecommunication 60
11. Total Staff Strength:
Staff Total
Lecturer 25
Foreman 1
Junior Lecturer 5
Workshop Instructor 6
Laboratory Assistant 2
Office Staff 5
Library Staff 2
Store Staff 2
Office Assistant 9
Night Guard 3
Sweeper 2